What is a tourist trophy race?

Tourist Trophy also is known by its full name International Isle of Man. Tourist Trophy is a series of races arranged in most years since 1907 when its first race held. The season usually goes during May and June. The first race held on May 28th, 1907. At that time the race was called International Auto-Cycle Tourist Trophy, and the track length was 15 miles and 1470 yards which later in 1911 changed into an extremely long distance of 37.40 miles.

During the First World War, the Tourist Trophy races discontinued from 1915 to 1919 and resumed again in 1920. Then again the races were stopped from 1940 to 1945. From 1949 to 1976 it became a part of FIM Motorcycle Grand Prix World Championship or simply MotoGP as the British section of the championship.

It was called one of the most dangerous racing events as more than 250 fatalities took place on the track and because of that, it lost the position in Grand Prix Championship.